Lethargic Fingers

The past few nights the wife and I have been staying up way too late watching episodes of the Wire on dvd.  Great show. Very well done.  Not kid friendly.  So we watch it after the kids go to bed…till way too late.

I don’t know if it is because of lack of sleep or dehydration or early indications of arthritis or poor circulation or just the fact that it was HOT in the house last night (and we had too many blankets on the bed), but whenever I woke up my fingers felt swollen and puffy.  I got up to console my daughter after a bad dream, my fingers struggled to turn the door knob.  My son woke with a poopy diaper, my fingers couldn’t operate the zipper on his pajamas very well.  I got up to go to the bathroom and my fingers felt like sausages trying to get some toilet paper.

So when I finally got up for the day (still before everyone else officially woke up), I made myself breakfast and picked up a guitar to wake up.  I didn’t just wake up mentally, but also tried to wake up my fingers.  They still felt a little lethargic after playing through my 10 minute warm up, so I played through some scales and a bunch of songs.  This is a bit extraneous, but here is the stuff I played (I only played parts):

Message in a Bottle by the Police,

I Love Rock N Roll by Joan Jett and the Heartbreakers,

Rock and Roll by Led Zeppelin,

Hazy Shade of Winter by Simon and Garfunkel,

(great cover)

Boom Boom by John Lee Hooker,

12-bar blues shuffle in G by everyone.

Of course I played everything unplugged.  It was a lot of fun to not only play them but to put this post together and listen/watch them all the way through.

Then the kids woke up and the fun of breakfast began.

One thought on “Lethargic Fingers

  1. Pingback: Hands Again « Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

Leave a Reply

