Finger Stretches

HardRockCallingPolice2008Over a year ago I started to learn Message in a Bottle as a way to strengthen my pinky finger with something other than a bar chord blues shuffle.  I learned the other chords used for the rest of the song, but spent most of my time trying to get the arpeggios (or whatever they are) right.  Then I never put the song together or bothered to try to sing while playing.

A few days ago I finally sat down with a guitar and went back over a lot of stuff I had doodled with in the past year or so.  I spent a few minutes going over Message in a Bottle and actually got it better than I did months ago.  It felt good and I tried to remember the chords.  I didn’t get it right, but I had a lot of fun.

So this evening we were sitting around the kitchen table eating dinner and watching Hard Rock Calling on the DVR.  The opening credits go up and then the Police break into Message in a Bottle.  My daughter turns and looks at me with a look of utter joy on her face, “Dad, it’s the song you played on your guitar last time!”

It took me a moment to catch on, but then I realized the connection she had made.  I was so proud of her for putting together two completely separate events and proud that I had played the song well enough that she could actually recognize it!

Leave a Reply

