Junk Mail

Why is it that I don’t mind guitar junk mail?  I sign up for every contest I see (and never win anything), but as a result, I’m on every mailing list out there.  Plus I’ve got two guitar magazine subscriptions and I’m signed up for the mailing lists of my two local guitar shops.  Even if I don’t buy anything (see real priorities), I still love looking at the advertisements.  I still love looking at the prices.  I still love looking at the different models and figuring out all the differences and nuances.  For example, why is the 61 Gibson SG reissue now $2099, when a year ago it was $1899, and a year before that it was $1799?  What has changed in the making of that guitar?  What has caused the price increase?  What about the Epiphone SG case?  It was $59.99 forever, and now suddenly it is $69.99.  Are they just catching up to the real price?  Are they ahead of the curve?

Leave a Reply

