My first (free) guitar

I played bass in a band. It was cool! I loved the experience and couldn’t get enough of it. I started matching up bar chords to the root note I was playing on bass for the songs we covered. I then learned our original. I’d play it on the headless guitar before band practice through the guitarist’s 50 watt Laney combo amp. It was so loud and so much fun…and actually sounded like music.

The little headless guitar looks so funny on my 6’1” frame. I don’t know if he was just being nice or if seeing me play that little guitar bothered him so much, but our drummer gave me his Peavey Predator Strat knock-off. He’d taken it apart, sanded off the black paint, and forgotten how to put it back together (or so he said).   He literally gave it to me in a brown paper bag.  I was so excited. I started reading online about re-building and setting up guitars. I looked at all the different colors I could paint it, but couldn’t decide. Then my wife suggested I decoupage it with my favorite comic books. So I began looking for cheap issues of Wolverine that had the best pictures.

Once I had my pictures I decided how they would look best on the guitar. After figuring out the layout, I used simple water based glue and a razor blade to cover the entire guitar body with the Wolverine pictures. After letting the glue dry I used a spray can clear coat to try to protect the decoupage and to add extra layers. Unfortunately I did all the work on the front porch of my apartment. It didn’t look bad, but it didn’t look good either.

This is the Wolverine Guitar.

This is the Wolverine Guitar.

Getting the pictures around these curves was tough!

Getting the pictures around these curves was tough!

Back Side

Back Side

However, I was able to put the rest of the guitar together with a black pick guard I ordered from Peavey. I had an instrument to play and learn on that was actually mine! Good bye loaner!

A few years later, a friend at church who works at a cabinet shop saw my Wolverine guitar and said he could easily refinish it at the shop so it looked a lot better. I took this opportunity to borrow a spoke shave from my boss at work and reshaped the back of the neck! I then gave it to my cabinet shop friend and he refinished the entire thing, even beveling the edges and adding the Wolverine name on the headstock. It is a lot more fun to play with the reshaped neck. I highly recommend www.guitarattack.com for DIY guitar projects.

Wolvering Headstock w/ beveled edges!

Wolvering Headstock w/ beveled edges!

Leave a Reply

