Another Guitar Show Missed

SeaTacGuitarShowToday I am not attending the Seattle-Tacoma Guitar show. Nor did I attend it last year. It is on Sunday and things are just too busy on Sundays.  And I am not dumping all my responsibilities on my significant other.

I have also missed the Portland Guitar Show (we drove by it an hour after it had ended) and not gone to other shows in past years.

But I have been to one guitar show in my life and this is what I wrote:

July 12, 2008 – Greater Northwest Guitar and Gear Show

I went to the Guitar and Gear Bazaar (aka the first annual Greater Northwest Guitar Show) today. I only had an hour, but I’m so glad I went. It was pretty sparse inside the cavernous Puyallup Fair Grounds building, but I was impressed by the number of custom guitar and amp builders. It is always fun to look and play the vintage equipment, but even more fun to try out the new and unique.

This was my first guitar show and I was kind of glad the Saturday crowd was thin. I am not very good and always feel self-conscious picking up a guitar and plugging it into an amp. Why? Because other people can hear me. I spend so much time playing unplugged or with headphones, that I am not very good at volume control or even hearing what my amplified playing will really sound like. I feel self-conscious. I feel like a poser. A wanna-be, if you will. Which is compounded by my inability to buy anything right now (buying a house and arrival of our second child in the same week kind of takes it out of the ol’ financial war chest).

Luckily I got over it. I even got to play a 1977 Rickenbacker 480. It was exactly what I hoped it would be body-wise. The neck was a bit more plank like than I expected, but actually just felt like a thicker version of my 1974 Epiphone Crestwood. Perhaps I’ll buy it someday and make copies with the appropriate woods and pick-up configurations to get everything I want from my guitar collection.

Overall a great experience for me (even if it was only an hour) and I hope the organizers are able to break even so they do it again next year!

2 thoughts on “Another Guitar Show Missed

  1. Pingback: Jealous Much? | Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

  2. Pingback: SeaTac Guitar Show Fall 2013 | Confessions of a Wanna Be Guitar Player

Leave a Reply

