My first instrument purchase

My first instrument purchase!  The classic jazz style Lyon bass.

After my study group agreed to form a band, I had to get a bass.  Being a poor grad student I had to find something cheap.  Luckily, I only had to find a bass (I thought buying four strings would be simple compared to six).  The bass player from the drummer’s old band was storing his Ampeg 8 by 10 speaker cabinet and amp head in the drummer’s garage.

So I went to all the local instrument shops and found out what full price was on brand new equipment.  I then went to all the pawn shops in town and found out that most of that equipment was still out of my price range.  Then I hit MusicGoRound and found an inexpensive Lyon Jazz style bass.  One hundred dollars later I was ready to rock!

Leave a Reply

